The West Ben­gal Power Devel­op­ment Cor­po­ra­tion Limited

A Govt Of West Ben­gal Enter­prise | CIN : U40104WB1985SGC039154



Main Objec­tives :

1. West Ben­gal is com­mit­ted to pro­vid­ing good qual­ity unin­ter­rupted power sup­ply to all its peo­ple at afford­able rates.

2. It is also com­mit­ted to estab­lish­ing com­mer­cial via­bil­ity in the power sec­tor so that the nec­es­sary invest­ment needs of the sec­tor can be met to cater to increas­ing demand for accel­er­at­ing eco­nomic growth in West Bengal.

In order to achieve these objec­tives, Gov­ern­ment of West Ben­gal has taken the fol­low­ing steps :

a) Gov­ern­ment of West Ben­gal has set up West Ben­gal Power Devel­op­ment Cor­po­ra­tion Ltd. In 1985.

b) Gov­ern­ment of West Ben­gal has estab­lished West Ben­gal Rural Energy Devel­op­ment Cor­po­ra­tion in 1998. The Cor­po­ra­tion has the man­date of elec­tri­fi­ca­tion of the rural areas and sup­ply of elec­tric­ity at 400 volts and below to con­sumers in rural sec­tor of the State with active involve­ment of Pan­chayat institutions.

c) West Ben­gal Elec­tric­ity Reg­u­la­tory Com­mis­sion has been con­sti­tuted on 31st March, 1999. The Com­mis­sion is cur­rently con­sid­er­ing the tar­iff peti­tions filed by WBSEB and other power util­i­ties in the State.

The pri­mary objec­tive of the Com­pany has always been to pro­mote the busi­ness of elec­tric power gen­er­a­tion and evac­u­a­tion for sub­se­quent sup­ply in the state. In fact, presently the total installed capac­ity of the state is 8567MW (Ther­mal –7289 MW , Hydel– 1116MW, Renew­able –162MW ) as on Sep-​2012 of which, with a capac­ity of 3860 MW, this pre­mier state owned Power Util­ity gen­er­ates bulk of the State’s power supply.

With an objec­tive to improve sta­tion heat rate and after build­ing of all gen­er­at­ing sta­tions under one umbrella as advised by the State Gov­ern­ment, the then WBSEB had handed over the man­age­ment of Ban­del and San­taldih Ther­mal Power Sta­tions to WBPDCL in the year 2001, since WBPDCL was then per­form­ing well in main­tain­ing Kolaghat TPS, Bakreswar TPP and Sagardighi TPP.